I was first introduced to the reality television series “Big Brother” the summer before I began my fourth year of undergrad at Dalhousie University. From then on I have watched the various seasons of Big Brother of and on…more on than off. The basic premise of the show (for those who may not have watched) is that a dozen or so people who for the most part have never met before will live in a house together for the whole summer competing in competitions and engaging in a variety of power struggles to escape eviction from the house. The top winner of Big Brother will earn significant cash.

Big Brother is like a large experiment in personality clashes; I think the producers do this on purpose. On the show you will always have your share of aggressive and mouthy people, your token few older folks, a mix of racial backgrounds and some person of a religious background. This year the religious influence in the house was Keith, a youth minister (apparently), although several online biographies and certainly his womanizing behavior in the house suggest that ministry may not be where his heart really lies. I read somewhere that out of the overflow of the heart that mouth speaks. Hmmmmm.

I think my wife summed it up best: if this guy was our kid’s youth minister I think we’d look for a new church or at the very least refrain from allowing him to have any influence in my kid’s lives. Maybe that’s why in the first episode, which showed Keith at his church, he was only preaching to four students anyways; the rest already knew to steer clear.

The only redeeming quality about Keith is that his game play was so awkward and repulsive to the rest of the houseguests (and he claims to be an HR guy?) that he secured his eviction from the house last night. Now we will no longer have to endure his unfortunate behavior. (See, I said it nicely)

Big Brother, you have picked your religious folks well in the past and have included some genuine people; not so much the case this time around! Better luck next time.

